

City of San Leandro

Meeting Date: June 19, 2017

Minute Order - Council

File Number: 17-358 Agenda Section: CONSENT CALENDAR

Agenda Number: 8.C.

TO: City Council

FROM: Chris Zapata

City Manager

BY: Cynthia Battenberg

Community Development Director

FINANCE REVIEW: Not Applicable

TITLE: MOTION Ratifying the Mayor's Appointment of Elmer Penaranda to the

Oversight Board for the Successor Agency to the Former Redevelopment

Agency of the City of San Leandro

BACKGROUND

The State elimination of Redevelopment Agencies on February 1, 2012 included the requirement for creation of a local oversight board to supervisor the work and approve the actions of the Successor Agency. The seven-member oversight board represents the taxing agencies (city, county and special districts) that receive the benefit of the redistributed property taxes. The City of San Leandro's Oversight Board to the former Redevelopment Agency of the City of San Leandro consists of the following individuals:

Supervisor Wilma Chan - appointed by the Alameda County Board of Supervisors

Dr. Hal Gin - appointed by Jack Scott, Ph.D., Chancellor, State of California Community Colleges

Surlene Grant - appointed by the Alameda County Board of Supervisors to serve as a member of the public

John Jermanis - appointed by Mayor Cassidy, City of San Leandro to serve as a member of the public

Morgan Mack-Rose - appointed by Sheila Jordan, Alameda County Superintendent of Schools, Alameda County Office of Education

Director Mark Williams - appointed by Elsa Ortiz, Board of Directors, AC Transit

With the departure of Steve Hernandez from the City of San Leandro, the Mayoral

File Number: 17-358

appointment of a former Redevelopment Agency employee is necessary. Based on past practice of appointing an individual from the largest employee group, the San Leandro City's Employee Association, the Mayor recommends the appointment of Elmer Penaranda, Senior Planner.

SB107 requires the consolidation of local oversight boards into county-wide oversight boards on July 1, 2018. Therefore, the term of this appointment is approximately one year.